Mk14:12-16, 22-26 [Corpus Christi]

Hi guys, I’m Nigel.

So if you guys don’t know, this Sunday is Corpus Christi, also known as The Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ. Like Trinity Sunday and the Solemnity of Christ the King, this day does not commemorate a particular event in Jesus’ life. Instead it celebrates the real presence of the Body and Blood of Christ in the Eucharist. Its actual date is the Thursday after Trinity Sunday, but “where the Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ is not a Holy Day of Obligation, it is assigned to the Sunday after the Most Holy Trinity as its proper day”.

Mark 14: 12-16, 22-26

And on the first day of Unleavened Bread, when they sacrificed the Passover lamb, his disciples said to him, “Where will you have us go and prepare for you to eat the Passover?” And he sent two of his disciples, and said to them, “Go into the city and a man carrying a jar of water will meet you; follow him, and wherever he enters, say to the householder, `The Teacher says, where is my guest room, where I am to eat the Passover with my disciples?’ And he will show you a large upper room furnished and ready; there prepare for us.” And the disciples set out and went to the city, and found it as he had told them; and they prepared the Passover.

And as they were eating, he took bread, and blessed, and broke it, and gave it to them, and said, “Take; this is my body.” And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, and they all drank of it. And he said to them, “This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many. Truly, I say to you, I shall not drink again of the fruit of the vine until that day when I drink it new in the kingdom of God.” And when they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

Now here is a short sharing about the importance of the Eucharist in my life (since this Sunday’s gospel is about the Eucharist). The Eucharist has been a big part of my faith ever since I started serving as an altar boy. And that made me understand things about the Eucharist etc. I would love to go for mass, especially  during my exam period – not because I believe that going to church would give me good grades and I would top my class,  or that if I gave time to God in turn he would give me good grades. I did believe in that at first. But after reflection I realized: it was actually going for the Eucharist that gave me a lot peace and calmness, and thus, with Christ in me, I would be in the right frame of mind to do what I need to do. Nowadays, due to the changes in my life, I find it hard to go for mass as I have a new timetable and so I find it hard to rush to church. But when I do get the chance to go, I get this awesome feeling as it feels great to pull myself away from this ever-changing and competitive world and set time aside for someone who is ever waiting patiently for me. Someone who gives himself to me which we now receive through the bread and wine at the Eucharist, transubstantiated into the body and blood of Christ.

Verses 22-24 says this :

And as they were eating, he took bread, and blessed, and broke it, and gave it to them, and said, “Take; this is my body.” And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, and they all drank of it. And he said to them, “This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many.

So what we receive during the Eucharist is the real presence of Jesus Christ. And yes I know it’s hard to understand/believe how Jesus can be in that piece of bread or the many pieces of bread on the altar. I don’t have an answer to that. But I don’t need an answer, because I have faith and it’s funny how I believe without an answer or a reason behind this, cause I’m a person that needs to know the reason and answers for things. Another thing that puzzles me is how a priest is able to partake of the role of Jesus. And I found this answer in the bible.

Philippians 4:13 :

I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.

So with this strength that he gets from God he is able to fill this big gap.And in the same way I feel that I get strengthened/empowered by God every time I receive him in the Eucharist, to go out and live a Christ-centred life and to be a witness of Christ which I struggle to live from time to time.

Anyway, as I end off, I challenge you guys to find that passion and faith to continue to serve god in our daily life and live a Christ-like life.

– Nigel

Leave a Reply

