Mk9:38-43,45,47-48 [26th Sunday in Ordinary Time]

30th September, 2012 Readings: 26th Sunday in Ordinary Time

“But anyone who is an obstacle to bring down one of these little ones who have faith…”

Upon reading this Sunday’s gospel, I was struck by this phrase and was reminded once again of the need to be “a little one” – not only in the sense of my identity of being a child of God but also in simply being childlike.

I loathe being childlike. It necessitates that I do not know everything about something, forcing me to not be the know-it-all I usually rather wish I were. It requires me to be vulnerable, for a child has no defences against the dangers of the world. Most of all, it requires me to be humble; it requires me to smother my pride. Yet, this is exactly what God is calling me to be. I am called to change my life and the way I live in order to reflect His will in me.

I think, if anything, I’m a creature of habit. I like familiar places, familiar people and a familiar routine. I think it takes a lot out of me to be out of this comfort zone. Once again, this is exactly what I’m called to do; I’m called out of my “cave”. For it is in this familiarity that I have found myself stagnating. And it is stunting my growth as a person. I have failed to see how some aspects of my life have become unhealthy.

I hate to admit that excessive gaming sometimes is an issue for me; however, it has become my tool to escape from work and reality. I know that if I continue down my path, I will definitely face ruin. So I have been trying to cut down on it as much as I can to focus on my studies. It really feels like I lost a limb sometimes (yes pun intended) but as Jesus says, “it is better for you to enter into life crippled”. Truly, I may feel a tinge of withdrawal, but I know I am walking into life. Ultimately by changing the way I live, I now rely on the Lord’s strength to overcome my hardships instead of just deluding myself. In Him I am truly alive.

We may be facing many problems at the moment. And because of these things, we have found it difficult to connect with God. In the Gospel, a man whom the apostles did not know was casting out devils in the name of Jesus. It may seem that we do not know God and sometimes it really seems He has abandoned us. But Jesus reminds us that despite all this, all we need to do is to call on His name, and in Him we too can make miracles happen.

“Let the little children come to me, and stop keeping them away, because the kingdom of heaven belongs to people like these.” So says Jesus in another part of the Gospel. Let us be children, and call on our Abba Father.

Love,
Andrew

Leave a Reply

