Princess

I am a princess born into royalty; I am what is known as a cradle-catholic. While most royalty begin their education from young, I was allowed to first grow physically and mentally, receiving my earliest spiritual experience only at 12. Although I had the help of my parents and other mentors, my proper teacher­–the Holy Spirit–was sent to me only when I turned 15. Think Mia Thermopolis of Princess Diaries.

Since then, my status was revealed and I was exposed to the rich depths of Catholicism. Many fields were opened to be discovered and understood, and many more awaits me. As an ambassador of Christ, the basic head-knowledge subject that puts my faith into context would the rich history of the Church—the role of Emperor Constantine, the East-West Schism, the Crusades, the Reformation, and the related movement of ecumenism, which is reminiscent of the political situation and reunification of the two Koreas.

I am also obliged to be familiar with contemporary doctrines and teachings, to be able to explain the seeming inconsistencies, as well as respecting the practices of others (how to hold joss-sticks, when not to offer pork/wine/beef) not yet allowed access to the Father’s kingdom.

There is a level of grace I am suppose to carry myself with. I am expected to advocate purity in relationships and social mission, to be comfortable among both children and elderly, and to be able to serve the less fortunate with zeal. Because the Father’s kingdom is also a spiritual one, I am to arm myself with the art of spiritual warfare; to learn how to pray not only for myself but for others as well.

Although these sound like obligations that hint a certain unwillingness, I bear my status and calling with pride and passion. For truly, ‘many are called, but few are chosen.’

von.

Leave a Reply

