I HAVE ALWAYS WONDERED HOW GOD’S WILL AND FREE WILL CO-EXIST

Hello everyone:) so I have been given a question by my community member to blog about and the question is

I HAVE ALWAYS WONDERED HOW GOD’S WILL AND FREE WILL CO-EXIST?

So when I first knew that I had to write about this I was like O MY GOSH….. how to write about such a topic that is so complex….. Even after reading up on this topic for the entire week I still cant understand fully how this simply yet complex co-exist between the 2 wills exist. To be honest if you were to go and search online and in books about such topics you will get I huge headache cause one thing will lead to another and that will also lead you to another and it will just go on and on.

Now enough of my ranting and back to the topic which I will try to uncover with what I have read so far do comment if you have a different view or have anything to add or correct cause im not like some pro at this.

So to begin we got to ask ourselves what is god’s will and free will?

So what is god’s will if you ask me I would say that god’s will is somewhat unknown to us man but with the help of the bible we are able to identify what is his will for us. The list goes on and on by I only bring up some.

Romans 12:1 begins with a simple but profound statement...”I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

It was Christ’s sacrifice and suffering for sin that made our salvation possible. Matthew 16:24 records Jesus’ words to those who wanted to be His disciples, “Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.” To serve the Lord, which is what being a disciple means, involves sacrifice on our parts….putting ourselves on the altar of God’s will and letting Him use us as He purposes.

Further we are to “die to self” in which we become dead to sin.  Romans 6:1-2. 11 explains, “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein? . . .     Now if we be dead with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him”

Romans 6:13 says, “Neither yield ye your members as instruments of unrighteousness unto sin: but yield yourselves unto God, as those that are alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness unto God.”

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

MATTHEW 16:24 Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.

So from these few passages that I brought up you can somewhat see what god’ s will/plan is for us. That is hope, love, peace, for us to pick up our cross and fellow him, for us to say that yes to him, for us to be empowered and renewed and to be living a life free from sin and also to be his disciple.

So now what is free will???

Free will to simply put it is the ability to make choices in our life. Its that simple….. ( if you have time you can go look up free will and the teaching and etc about it and see how it is linked to sin which is another topic )

So now the question of how these 2 wills can co-exist???

After doing some searching online I realise that there is quite a lot of people out there that don’t think that god’s will can free will cannot co-exist. But it is not true that they cant co-exist but in fact they always co-exist by the mere fact that god gives us free will(this is what I feel). Now the reason why I say that god has given us free will is because if you look at stories in the bible like in genesis we have god telling man that he can eat for any tree in the garden of eden except from that one tree in the garden but man choose to eat from that tree. Man knew that it was wrong to eat from that tree and that right thing to do would be to stay clear of that tree and not eat from it. And I know that there will be people out there that will say that that it was the snake( it say snake in my bible ) tricked man into eating it and etc… but the thing is that Man had to choice not to eat the fruit but he decided otherwise by giving into temptation from the sake. Hence this story show the struggles we face in our lives having to fight of such temptations. Now you he god created man and therefore if god created us by faith we believe that god gave us free will.( this is I think the easiest way to put it out there are other ways to put it across but I think its to long to be done in a blog post )

However, apart from the reason why I feel that the 2 will always co-exist is because if you look at the churches doctrine by St Augustine about free will it says Augustine’s approach to the “free choice of the will” assumes that “there can be no denying that we have a will.” Instead, Augustine defines “good will” as “a will by which we seek to live a good and upright life and to attain unto perfect wisdom” which, of course, assumes that it is free. This is worth meditating on while considering the literal Latin translation of the first two are not meant for “stuff,” but rather for God. The Catechism of the Catholic Church echoes this, saying, “Endowed with a spiritual soul, with intellect and with free will, the human person is from his very conception ordered to God and destined for eternal beatitude.”

From this I would simple end with because free will from the doctrine from St Augustine says that a will by which we seek to live a good and upright life and to attain unto perfect wisdom” which, of course, assumes that it is free. which allows us to achieve gods will for us I would say they co-exist:) thanks for readings:)

I have a lot more reading that has to be done on this topic

-Nigel

Leave a Reply

