Straw, Sticks and Bricks

The one saving grace… is that I am somehow praying.

This is what I tell people, even though I feel like my whole world came crumbling down. I somehow am praying. I am praying even though I feel that I cannot see how there is any goodness in this path which I have ended up walking on. I am praying even though I lost so many things… and even in my tears, even when I feel totally worthless and unlovable, even though the being in church breaks me down, even when I feel as though God doesn’t love me – I still come before him and pray.

Few days ago, we (log guys, I think) were talking about gwen’s song, and someone jokingly asked me to go write a song. A taylor swift comparison was made, said musicians get their inspiration during moments like these. So after trying to help sabby search for a praise song to use and coming up short endlessly, I picked up my guitar after walking home from Soo’s today.

http://yourlisten.com/timothy.swee.3/straw-sticks-and-bricks

I guess I tried to live my life right, but no matter what I used or did, the storm that came washed everything away. But what stood was me. Me standing upon this rock. And for that I praise God. I praise God for walking with me through this, though I might not believe it. I thank him for giving me the strength to cling on. I thank him for letting me build my house on the rock.

Lyrics: Straw, Sticks and Bricks

Some tried to build it with straw

Some tried to build it with trees

But I looked at all I had

God this is part of your plan

 

So I build my house upon the rocks

Though the world would try to tear it down

I will not crumble

Build my faith upon your love

Since that day that you had died for me

And set me free

 

Some thought that brick was enough

To face the storm and the seas

But the sand beneath their feet

Brought them all to their knees

 

But I built my house upon the rocks

Though the world had tired to tear it down

I did not crumble

Built my faith upon your love

Since that day that you had died for me

And set me free

 

Will you build your house upon the rocks

Though the world would try to tear it down

Would you build your faith upon his love

You know he wants to set you free

Come and sing with me

 

So we build our house upon the rocks

Though the world would try to tear us down

we will not crumble

Build our faith upon your love

Since that day that you had died for me

And set me free

 

Thanks for praying for me.

Love, Swee

 

Leave a Reply

