In the Service of the King of Heaven

Dear God,

It has been twelve eons since I entered the service of your son Jesus Christ, the King of Heaven.

My work brings me great joy, for what other task could better prepare me for the evanescence of our mortal existence and the eternity of the life everlasting?

Yet my soul is troubled, for not everything is as it should be in the Halls of the Most High.

Why are all the Angels, Saints and Martyrs so old and tired? Aren’t they supposed to be burning with the Spirit to set the world on fire? Why are they sitting around drinking altar wine when there are souls to be saved – 5.5 million in our department alone!?

More disturbing is the manner in which some of the Saints deal with the souls under their charge. Souls of every shape and colour call our office day and night, asking for everything under the sun – new jobs, promotions, love, Secondary School admission for their kids. But the Saints turn them away.

“Our office doesn’t handle worldly matters,” the Saints say. “This is the Divine Office, for Christ’s sake.”

Hang on – since when were Heaven and Earth divorced? What happened to the Communion of Saints?

Filled with righteous anger, I challenged Saint after Saint over this matter. For twelve eons, I chastised. I pleaded.

“These souls are our Brothers and Sisters,” I said to anyone who would listen. “We are one with them in Christ! How can we treat them as aliens from another universe?”

But my protests fell on deaf ears. Until today.

Today, the Jubilee Council met. At the Jubilee Council, the Angels and Saints draw out their Holy Plan of Salvation for the following seven times seven decades.

In the midst of a heated debate, a lone Angel rose to address the multitude. He was one of the most authoritative voices in the council – perhaps even said to be the Right Hand of the Archangel.

In a deep, booming voice, the Angel proposed that the Council had reached a certain shift in mindset.

“Two Jubilees ago, it seems that we saw ourselves as a distinct entity from the souls on Earth, an external contractor that merely provides intercessions to order,” said the Angel. “But somewhere along the way, we have changed.”

“Today, we stand in unity with our mortal Brothers and Sisters. Their salvation is our cause, their spiritual growth our KPI.”

“The shepherd must take on the smell of the sheep.”

The Angel’s prophetic words were fulfilled even as he spoke. Convinced, the heavenly host murmured in agreement.

Elated, I gave silent thanks to You, for surely it was Your Spirit that spoke through the Angel to miraculously bring to fruition my dream of the past twelve months.

But You interrupted my prayer with a weird question: “My son, was that what you wanted all along? Why didn’t you just tell me?”

Then You left me in stunned silence.

Why hadn’t it occurred to me to pray for a conversion of hearts, all this time? Did I ever imagine that I might achieve even the simplest task for Your Kingdom on my own effort, through my own merit, without Your Hand at work?

Thank you God, for teaching me to be humble.

Jeremy

Leave a Reply

